Korbo Lorbo Jitbo Re vs Whistle Podu…an ‘El Classico’ in the making?

My earlier articles were peppered over which IPL team is your favorite & was intended to tickle your mind, heart and IPL consciousness to get you ready for the 6th IPL season. Now hoping that I have succeeded, we all should take a backseat and look at enjoying some of the best matches this IPL, and sure we have some matches which can rightly be termed as being in league of ‘El Classico’.

‘El Classico’ is a term being used in the Spanish la liga, wherein matches between Real Madrid and Barcelona are termed as ‘El Classico’. Since we get inspired from the west, let’s have own cricketing ‘El Classico’ matches!

kkr-vs-cskYes ‘CSK vs. KKR’, can be in the right sense called an ‘El Classico’ in its own right. Both are fiercely competitive and have aggressively played against each other, one can never forget the nail biting finale! Between these two teams in 2012.

Let’s look at both these teams a little closer and try to foresee whose color would be brighter on D day. So let’s start with the defending champs …the knights from Kolkata.
Of course King Khan’s energy will be right through them once again and they would be aiming at only bettering their performance. This year their core team is again captained by Gauti (Gautam Gambhir) and their squad would include the right mix of both Indian and Foreign Players. Let’s look at both respectively.

Since I love KKR, kkr first!

Indian Players (KKR)

Foreign Players (KKR)

  1. Debabrata Das
  2. Shami Ahmed.
  3. Manoj Tiwary.
  4. Iqbal Abdulla.
  5. L Balaji.
  6. Laxmi Ratan Shukla.
  7. Manvinder Bisla.
  8. Pradeep Sangwan
  9. Sarabjit Singh Ladda.
  10. Rajat Bhatia.
  11. Yusuf Pathan.


  1. Jacques Kallis
  2. Brad Haddin
  3. Brendon McCullum
  4. Sunil Narine
  5. James Pattinson
  6. Brett Lee
  7. Eoin Morgan
  8. Shakib Al Hasan
  9. Ryan ten Doeschate
  10. Sachithra Senanayake
  11. Ryan McLaren

Chennai Super Kings will again be lead by Dhoni, who in my belief is really an efficient captain in all formats of the game, rightly called ‘Captain Cool’. Their squad would consist of.

Indian Players

Foreign Players

  1. Akila Dananjaya
  2. Anirudha  Srikkanth
  3. Ankit Singh Rajpoot
  4. B Aparajith
  5. Imtiaz Ahmed
  6. Mohit Sharma
  7. MS Dhoni
  8. Murali Vijay
  9. R Karthikeyan
  10. Ravichandran Ashwin
  11. Ravindra Jadeja
  12. Ronit More
  13. Shadab Jakati
  14. Subramaniam Badrinath
  15. Suresh Raina
  16. Vijay Shankar
  17. Wriddhiman Saha
  1. Albie Morkel
  2. Ben Hilfenhaus
  3. Ben Laughlin
  4. Christopher Morris
  5. Dirk Nannes
  6. Dwayne Bravo
  7. Francois Du Plessis
  8. Jason Holder
  9. Michael Hussey
  10. Nuwan Kulasekara


So, come this April 3rd, we could really have an ‘El Clasico’ in the making. Do tune in and keep posting, Cheers!!

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *